How we work

ICTC members and observers meeting, Maputo, Mozambique, 2019ICTC's Executive Group (EG) is responsible for providing overall leadership for implementation of ICTC's strategy and accountability to the membership. The EG is elected by members and manages the priorities of the coalition between formal meetings. The work of the EG is supported by a number of Task Teams, Focal Points, Grant Managers, a Program Advisory Committee, a Project Manager and contracted support.

The EG members are:

  Chair: Angelia Sanders, Associate Director, Trachoma Control Program, The Carter Center
  Vice Chair: PJ Hooper, Deputy Director, International Trachoma Initiative
Scott McPherson   Immediate Past Chair: Scott McPherson, Senior NTD Technical Advisor, RTI International 

Every two years, at the formal meeting linked with the GET2020 Alliance, an election is held for the position of Vice Chair. At that meeting, the previous Vice Chair moves into the position of Chair and the previous Chair moves into the position of Immediate past Chair. In the event that a GET2020 Alliance meeting does not take place, the Executive Group is responsible for finding an alternative situation to conduct elections.

Download the Executive Group terms of reference (PDF 113.85Kb)

Focal Points and Task Teams 

Focal Points act as points of contact for queries relating to thematic areas while others represent ICTC in external groups which have been identified as being of strategic importance to the coalition. They play an important advisory support role to the Executive Group on technical, strategic and organizational issues as well as creating and strengthening cross-sector linkages and building collaboration that supports progress towards the elimination of trachoma as a public health problem. 

ICTC task teams support the delivery of ICTC’s strategic plan, including the development of
key messages, influencing materials and evidence-based technical resources.

Download the Focal Points and Task Teams terms of reference (PDF 43Kb) 

Program Advisory Committee

ICTC's Program Advisory Committee (PAC) is an advisory group for ICTC's funded partnership initiatives. It constitutes a strategic meeting point of ICTC representatives and ICTC-appointed grant managers for matters relating to the technical and programmatic aspects of funded programs.

The PAC is chaired by Matthew Burton (London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine) and the members are made up of: the PAC Chair, an International Trachoma Initiative representative, ICTC's Executive Group and a grant manager representative.

To find out more, download the committee's terms of reference (PDF 129Kb)

Partnership Grant Managers

The grant managers hold the contract for funded SAFE implementation programs undertaken in partnership with ICTC. The grant managers are accountable for the contracted deliverables with funding partners.

Find out more about ICTC partnership initiatives